J. Crew Boots for You

Image c/o J. Crew

Wowzers. Sorry for the delay in posting. Actual work is getting the best of me and with all the travel I have really taken a backseat. I hope this will make it up to you. That is, if you’re even reading this, which is dumb to say because you clearly are if you’re reading this…I’ll stop.

The brick and mortar J. Crew is best to visit during the dead of winter. By then, it’s resort wear time. I find that the second you step inside, all bundled up in your parka, you immediately regret that you do not own a beach house because, according to J. Crew’s walls and tables, you should be on vacation you mouth-breather. I enviously gaze at the skirts and critter flip-flops and internally weep. It at least gets you excited for the warmer months however far away they are in actuality. #firstworldproblems

My latest obsession is filling the holes in my wardrobe. Funny how I see my wardrobe as a bottomless pit, always eager for just one more piece. I recently purchased a pair of ankle boots like the pair seen above from J. Crew. I am digging the laces not-too-fussy-or-stuffy detailing. I decided to build an outfit around it from the ample archives and some from the sale section of the site. These boots make me want to go totally artsy, upscale hipster.

Let’s start from the top. Ba dum chhh.

Image c/o J. Crew

Image c/o J. Crew

Tank, Whisper Linen Striped Tank in Dusty Sage. J. Crew, SALE: $24.99

This tank is super lightweight and a good base for building on all your layers. I am about stripes. I just am.

Jacket, Utility Fleece Sherpa-Lined Hoodie in Bench Green, J. Crew, SALE: $88

Okay, so maybe I play for both teams. If it means I’ll get what I want, I’m not above…shopping in the men’s department. They usually have the smaller items that might not survive the onslaught of crazed women who are swooping them the moment they go on sale up while you’re asleep. Plus, men’s clothes tend to be really comfy because they don’t know how to sacrifice for fashion like we do. And to top you off…

Image c/o J. Crew

Puffer, Excursion Quilted Vest in Black, J. Crew, $98.00

Sorry this one isn’t on sale (yet). Every lady should have a puffer vest. It very rarely makes you look rounder if that’s your fear. As long as it doesn’t look supremely tight after you have all your layers on, I say you’re golden. And warm.

Image c/o J. Crew

Jeans, Downtown Skinny Jean  in Pearly Blue Wash, J. Crew, SALE: $69.99

These jeans will be perfect for tucking into the top of the boots and will ensure that the whole look is not too dark. Don’t forget some patterned socks! Fun socks for me are like fancy underwear for most. You may not see them, but I know that I’m wearing socks that have cows on them and that makes me feel sexy.

Image c/o J. Crew

Bracelet, Crystal Brulee Bracelet in Rouge, J. Crew, $45.00

Scarf, Metallic Snood, J. Crew, $49.50

These last two are just icing on the cake. I am needing the bling to remind me that I’m still a girly girl despite the hard exterior of the boots. And the snood is fabulous because it’s called a “snood”, people. That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

