Bosses and Biscotti

Images c/o Real Simple and Google

I like to gift my superiors at work with baked goods. Not only is it hard to give a present to someone you don’t typically know on a super personal level, but there’s also the added unknown of what to get someone that doesn’t need a whole lot in life. I stress about getting a book that someone will find boring and I stray from the predictable pen or journal or planner, etc. I know that I have particular tastes when it comes to things of that nature and I want to envision someone enjoying my gift rather than the canned thank you and the eventual storage in a desk drawer or worse, the garbage can.

What’s great about baked goods is that they will (hopefully) disappear. I’m even okay with them being regifted. I know a lot of baked goods float around during the holidays so if they end up on another cookie platter to a neighbor it’s no big. Last year I made a hot chocolate mix. This year I’m going to make biscotti.

I found this recipe and I have almost all of the ingredients already. It’s a pretty low budget venture. I can wrap them up in parchment paper and tie with a handmade card and some ribbon. Luckily, I know that my bosses drink a lot of coffee so I feel pretty confident this will pay off. This recipe also comes with a variation for Chocolate-Cherry and Pistachio-Anise. If I had a little more room in my budget this year, I could have paired this with a Starbucks gift card and/or a spruced up coffee mug like this one. Though I must admit that any coffee drinker has a slew of coffee mugs so that part of the gift would be a little risky.

Here’s hoping it turns you. Of course I will be sampling it. And if it’s really good…I’ll keep a little for myself.

Makes 60 cookies| Hands-On Time: 25m | Total Time: 1hr 40m

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, spooned and leveled
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon pure almond extract
  • 1 cup almonds

Directions:

  1. Heat oven to 350° F. Line a baking sheet with parchment. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; set aside.
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat the eggs and sugar on medium-high until light and fluffy, 4 to 5 minutes. Beat in the almond extract.
  3. Gradually add the flour mixture, mixing by hand until just combined (do not overmix). Fold in the almonds.
  4. Shape the dough into two 2-by-10-inch logs and place 3 inches apart on the prepared baking sheet. Bake until golden and firm, 25 to 30 minutes.
  5. When the logs are cool enough to handle, using a serrated knife, slice each log into ⅜-inch-thick slices. Place the slices cut-side down on 2 baking sheets.
  6. Bake, rotating the baking sheets and turning the biscotti over halfway through, until dry and firm, 8 to 10 minutes. Let cool completely on the baking sheets.
Leave a Reply

