Bikini Roulette

Images c/o Pinterest

Swim suit season. Trust me (as we all take an inward sigh) I would rather be thinking about anything else, but I couldn’t help myself when I got an email from Victoria’s Secret on their new Swim 2012 collection. What caught my skeptical eye as I was about to gingerly click on the first suits while simultaneously wondering why I would need a push-up bra top at the beach was the Bikini Mixer on the far right side of the page.

I’ve been mixing bikini tops and bottoms since Day 1, not to be fashion forward but rather, to justify buying this cute top here and that cute bottom there; I’m a grazer. Eventually I amassed a solid arsenal and it seemed silly to only wear certain ones together.

So I started my mixing and matching. It’s really quite fun and something that I haven’t seen on other sites. It may sound silly, but I like being able to actually see the top and bottom together versus opening up two separate pages and somehow sizing each window to mirror the effect of pairing them as an actual bikini. You can add your designs to your wishlist (if you have a VS account (if not, just make one. It’s free!)) or you can add them directly to your virtaul shopping cart. I saved some of my favorite creations here that will hopefully inspire.

Wild Thang

Images c/o Victoria's Secret

LEFT: Top, The Daisy Push-Up Triangle in Golden Leopard, $26-28; Bottom, Boyshort in Black, $18

I like the boyshort option, however they only come in black. Bummertime. I would definitely have to try on a push-up top for the beach; it’s never been an option. For me, it would have to be supremely comfortable and not have too much padding. My suits are usually functional, not for show. I’m all about good lining though!

RIGHT: Top, The Liya Push-Up Halter in Green Tie Dye, $26-28; Bottom, Adjustable Hot Short, $18-20

Tie dye and I were close in grade school. My mom helped us make our own t-shirts and such. This suit brings me back. I like the semi-complimentary colors of the two dyes, but it is out there enough to make people stop and look. Either piece would look just as good with a solid.

Sweet n’ Strapless

Images c/o Victoria's Secret

LEFT: Top, The Madi Push-Up Bandeau in Grape, $28-30; Bottom, Double-String in Black/White Zebra, $18-20

Bandeaus are probably my favorite tops. The no-tan-lines end result is preferred. Their only down side is that they can sometimes create an un-tan band across your chest making deep-v t-shirts/dresses unflattering. I’m picky about that sort of stuff, but if you’re not then I commend you. I am becoming a bigger fan of purple so that’s why I chose this top. The black/white animal print and the splash of color make it super special.

RIGHT: Top, The Belle Bandeau in Scuba, $24-26; Bottom, Cheeky Hipkini in Got a Mint, $18-20

Like the tie dye suit, this one is adored for the complimentary colors effect. The two solids can be mixed and matched with other solids and other patterned pieces (the point of this post, y’all!). Keep in mind that a creating a plain base with your suit makes for fun cover-ups and accessories.

Fave!

Image c/o Victoria's Secret

Top, The Abbie Triangle in Neon Coral Dot, $20-22; Bottom, Side Ruched Low-Rise Hipkini in Yellow Knockout, $18-20

Maybe it’s the polka dots, maybe it’s the orange and yellow combo, maybe it’s the triangle top. This was the first suit I made in the Bikini Mixer and it remained my favorite. I could totally see myself wearing this and truly enojying myself in it. I saved it to my wish list and maybe I’ll even print it out and post it to my fridge as my incentive to keep up on my Lose It! app journey.

PS I think polka dots are going to be huge this season. Make note.

Though Spring Break (for you college kiddos) and Summer seem far away, it’s never too late to start browsing your suiting options. They’re usually on deep sale this time of year. Don’t forget your sunscreen with that cute suit!

Leave a Reply

