American Girl in Paris: Part Une

My own picture in the Musee d'Orsay

Bonjour! That’s about all the French I know. I’m hoping that will change since I recently bought a LivingSocial deal for a 12-month online language class. I have yet to start it, but…still hoping. On another note, my roommate is going to Paris to visit her sister who is studying abroad. I am lucky enough to have been to Paris a couple of times and always leave with a heavy heart because it is such an incroyable place. It’s true, those Parisian women are just something else. Their sense of style and grace is otherworldly. I could live without the chain smoking though.

I decided to do a sort of what-I-would-pack-if-I-were-going-too one afternoon on ModCloth. Then I thought that I would also pick out something I think she would wear because our sense of style is rather different. As I put it once, she is to Crate & Barrel what I am to the flea market. In other words, she favors the classics while I favor the classics with a twist. A crisp white t-shirt versus a crisp white t-shirt that’s backless. Enough examples? Okay, let’s get down to it.

There were a few things (besides style elements) that I kept in mind while forming these two outfits. She will be there in the spring so it will still be a little on the chilly side but nice enough that she doesn’t have to be bundled up. In my fantaisie, it will be a bright, sunny day. I chose to go to ModCloth for this adventure because I adore their vintage-inspired aesthetic. Paris has a special style all its own, as does ModCloth. Finally, I dipped my toe into the Paris Spring 2012 trends. They’re always ahead of the game so it’s best to go there prepared, though there really is no way to avoid looking like a tourist. Just own it.

The fun part about all of this is that pieces from one side can easily be brought to the other. This is not a contest; it’s a way of showing both styles. You would find most of these types of items in my closet or my roommate’s closet. What you wear just depends on the occasion and/or your mood. Ah…the beauty of your closet. PS do you die for the names of all these things?!

Images c/o ModCloth

Classic: Dress, ‘Tis a Shift to Be Simple Dress in Navy, $52.99.

Nothing better than a plain, clean canvas. This shift provides ease of movement and is a crucial wardrobe building block.

Modern: Dress, Crinkled Confection Dress, SALE: $24.99

What makes this dress a little special is the texture of the overlay. Makes you want to reach out and touch it, right?

Images c/o ModCloth

Classic: Belt, Idyllic Apple Belt, $14.99.

Trade out that normal brown belt that comes with the dress and add a little red. It is the color of amour. Maybe it’s because of their flag but, there’s just something about red and blue together in France.

Modern: Tights, Invisi-bow Tights, $17.99

Peek-a-boo! Bows! These are mullet tights: business in the front, party in the back. Precious.

Images c/o ModCloth

Classic: Shoes, Born Brilliant Flat, $29.99.

When you think of Europe you generally think of walking. They walk a lot more than most Americans. Trust. Flats, especially of the ballet variety, are popular there. You do see some show-offs wearing heels, but I wouldn’t recommend trying to keep up with that. These shoes are casual with the slightest touch of elegance, which goes perfectly with a tour of the Louvre.

Modern: Shoes, Feeling Pine Flat, $39.99.

For me, the strap is key. Walking around for hours can lead to blisters. Non merci. With these shoes the buckle adds security (you won’t lose one in the Seine) and the inner-ankle coverage adds sass.

Images c/o ModCloth

Classic: Ring, Ring Me Up, $9.99.

Nothing says classic like pearls. I dare you to steer me otherwise.

Modern: Ring, Golden Gift Ring, $9.99.

I can’t get off the bow train. This is such a quiet way to throw a little curveball into your jewlery box.

Did you like part une? Keep your figurative (and probably literal) pants on for part deux later this week…bonsoir!

2 thoughts on “American Girl in Paris: Part Une

  1. I just booked my flight to Paris and Italy in April! My sister is also studying abroad! Thank you for this post!! I need all the fashion advice I can get for my European adventure! : )

    • So jealous of you two! Roomie is going to Italy as well!! Hoping that my own European vacay comes along soon…have so much fun! Miss you, xo.

Leave a Reply

