It’s O-s-c-a-r

The nominations are in…as a result, there are so many movies I have to see. Yes, people, we have our Oscar nominations. I greatly appreciated the brevity of the nominees announcement yesterday morning on Good Morning America. It was quick, to the point and afterwards I made my way to work. My only complaint goes out to Jennifer Lawrence’s outfit seen in the video arriba.

Image c/o oscar.go.com

Now before I get too excited about the red carpet arrivals and the actual telecast itself, I have complied a list of the remaining movies I need to see in the Best Picture category. Mostly I like to feel well-informed on all the nominees in that particular category. The boy equivalent to this is watching a football game and not knowing anybody’s name. What’s the point of watching if you don’t feel invested? (This example is actually how a lot of girls feel while watching a football game.)

Here are all the nominated films and my feelings about them (if you care).

Image c/o IMDb

 
TO SEE: The Artist is a black and white film with French people. When I saw the preview for the first time, my inner movie critic that judges whether or not I will see it was all, “Psh. No thanks.” Time passed and I started to detect a low humming noise in my ear. It was buzz about this movie. I am resolved to see it now, especially after it won a couple Golden Globes and is nominated for 10 Oscars.
 

Image c/o IMDb

 
SEEN: I feel as though I am missing something in The Descendants. Overall, I came away a little disappointed. Though it leaves out a few things, the trailer pretty much sums up the whole movie. George Clooney won a Golden Globe for his performance so maybe this is proof that I should keep my day job and forego the dim limelight of a professional movie critic.
 

Image c/o IMDb

 
TO SEE: My Kindle tells me that I am a mere 15% into the book, but I have told myself that I cannot see Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close until it reads 100%. This was a bit of a surprise nomination, but I’m glad it squeaked in there as it looks incredibly promising. Tom Hanks and Sandra Bullock are just icing.
 

Image c/o IMDb

 
SEEN: This is one of the best books I’ve read. I couldn’t put it down and recommended it to anyone that would listen. The Help, as a movie, is a pretty good adaptation of the book. Both mediums are perfect on a lazy afternoon. I would truly like to see it again.
 

Image c/o IMDb

 
TO SEE: Another sneak attack to my radar, Hugo, appears to be a must-see. It’s directed by Martin Scorsese, so maybe that should have been my tip-off. Though I don’t have any dependents (I’m not even a pet parent), I still want to give this one a shot.
 

Images c/o IMDb

 
SEEN (& OWN): Good golly this movie was great. Midnight in Paris has quite an ensemble cast, including one of my most faves, Rachel McAdams. Directed by Woody Allen, this takes you on an unexpected journey through Paris, which is just goregous. If you’re a lover of the arts you’re going to eat this one up.
 

Image c/o IMDb

 
SEEN:  I saw Moneyball with two guys who really liked this movie (kind of a “duh”). I enjoyed myself and thought the producers had a good balance between the actual sport and the drama that surrounded this particular story. I know enough about baseball to understand what’s happening and didn’t feel like this movie excluded me from the audience.
 

Image c/o IMDb

 
SEEN: This movie…is hard to describe. The Tree of Life is something I think I can one day say I saw. Brad Pitt also stars in this one, as does Jessica Chastain, who co-starred in The Help.  It was very…artsy sci-fi. I can’t really give any other opinion than that because it was rather challenging to follow or discern any concrete plot. So…good luck with it.
 

Image c/o IMDb

 
SEEN: My roommate and I were the only ones in the theatre for War Horse. It was nice because we could chit-chat while the movie was happening. This is a long one, but overall a worthwhile movie. The intertwining stories during World War I give it a more robust plot line. While it seems like Director Steven Spielberg steered it in a more Disney-like feature, I do enjoy horses.
 
My prediction you didn’t ask for? I think the winner will ultimately be The Artist. Find out by setting your alarm clock for Sunday, February 26 at 7:00 pm ET to watch it all go down. These types of broadcasts are the only times when I am jealous of the Pacific coasters- they don’t have to stay up as late!
Leave a Reply

