Pizza: Now a Fruit

Images c/o IMDb

Tuesday means Glee and New Girl night. Sometimes it’s necessary to make little events like this special. This normall blah day of the week has become a pizza night in the apartment. Though I’m not as into Glee as I once was, New Girl usually doesn’t disappoint. It helps that I have a nerd crush on Zooey Deschanel, but you already knew that.

On the other pizza-related note, I’m sorry for the teaser but, pizza is not a fruit. It is just a vegetable. Pizza does, however, taste delicious with fruit on it. Okay, well, it’s not actually pizza in the literal sense. More like in the idea of pizza. I mentioned earlier that I was to attend a brunch before doing sorority things. I did and it was magnificent. I’m generally obsessed with all aspects of brunch and this event didn’t let me down. We feasted on cinnamon raisin french toast, bacon, scrambled eggs, coffee, mimosas, and pizzelles. I brought a new treat to the table that I pinned on my Pinterest board, Food Baby. (Side note: my Pinterest account is becoming a thing of absolute beauty. I’m growing it like I would a rare plant.)

This fruit pizza was a hit and it was so easy (and cheap!) to make. As you can see, it’s not pizza at all really. It’s a giant cookie with fruit on it. Luckily, it is very light in the tummy and fit into the brunch motif. I gobbled up any extras later in the day. I simply could not let it sit out without me eating it. I will most definitely make it again! Other recipe ideas to try include any dessert with lemon. I’m having a love affair with lemon (sorry, Boyfriend). I also dream about the day my Girl Scout cookie order arrives as it contains a carefully calculated assortment of cookies. Oh, goodness. Drooling.

Image c/o My Recipes

Ingredients

1 package Sugar Cookie Mix

8 oz. (1 package) Cream Cheese, softened

1/4 cup Powdered (Confectioner’s) Sugar

1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract

Fresh Fruit (your choice!)

Instructions

Crust: Preheat your oven to 350 degrees.  You can use any pan that you like that will fit the whole package of cookie dough. The original recipe recommends a slightly greased pizza pan, but I used a non-stick, ungreased, rectangular cookie sheet and it worked just fine.  Prepare the sugar cookie mix as directed and spread evenly on the bottom of the pan.  Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes or until slightly brown around outside of crust.  Make sure to check that the middle of the cookie gets cooked too! Cool completely.

Cream Cheese Layer: Mix or beat the cream cheese, confectioner’s sugar, and vanilla extract until smooth and creamy. Spread on the cooled cookie crust in an even layer.

Fruit: Wash, dry, and cut the fruit as necessary. Arrange on top of cream cheese layer in your desired pattern. Start from the outside and work your way into the center. I used sliced strawberries, blueberries, and kiwi like the picture, though it wasn’t nearly as fancy!

Leave a Reply

