Neo-Neutrals

Image c/o J Brand

The fashion world is moving too fast towards springtime trends. Sure, there is crazy weather out there, but I’m just not ready for super bright colors yet. Perhaps that is because there is a winter storm warning in effect in my area. No flip flops for me.

Regardless of the actual weather, neons are practically bursting at the seams in every storefront, both of the virtual and physical variety, and on runways around the globe. A trend that I am particularly inspired by is neo-neutrals. As I understand it, this is a unique pairing where the loudness of a neon is hushed by a neutral. Maybe a white tee with a sweet, hot pink necklace (I’m DYING to DIY this one from The Glitter Guide. I can’t even STAND how fierce it is). I hope you’ll see, in the pics below, that this goodness only sounds strange. The visual is much more appealing, much like the Nutella grilled cheese I came across on Cup of Jo.

The above jeans from J Brand are a fine example of the colored denim that is becoming cool for the next season (finally!). Gap has some more affordable pairs that are just as colorful (as well as a heap of neutrals to go with your neons), though I don’t know how comfortable I am with their new “lightweight denim.” It feels papery thin. Maybe it’s just me.

Images c/o J. Crew

Left: Top, Colorblock Stripe Boatneck Tee in Neon Pink Chalkboard, J. Crew, $45.00

Right: Belt, Patent Leather Skinny Belt in Neon Azalea, J. Crew, $36.50

This top was recently seen on Cupcakes and Cashmere. It features the beloved classic, stripes, with the surprise of neon. It makes me think of a yacht party. The belt would be perfect on a shift dress or a pair of khakis. I feel like this type of accessory would do just as well in the dreariness of winter chills.

Images c/o Nordstrom

Left: Sandal, DV by Dolce Vita ‘Archer’ Sandal, Nordstrom, $68.95

Right: Wedge, ALDO ‘Brimfield’ Wedge Sandal, Nordstrom, $89.95

Neo-neutrals aren’t just limited to above the ankle! Put some on your footies. I love, love, love sandals. Almost as much as I love ballet flats. I like that the gold is glamming up an otherwise average sandal. The same goes for the hints of pink the paint the edges of the wedge. It’s not too, too bold, which I dig. It gives off the feeling equivalence of a wink.

Images c/o Ideeli

Left: Dress, W118 By Walter Baker Peach/White Ella Dress, Ideeli, SALE: $69.99

Right: Dress, Green Envelope Colorblock Racerback Dress, Ideeli, SALE: $49.99

If I wasn’t committed to honoring my Lenten promise of no-clothes-shopping, I would have already scooped up both of these jah-mazing dresses. They have everything one could want:

  • Trendsetting: neo-neutrals
  • Trendsetting x2: colorblocking
  • Feminine bow detail
  • Flattering shape
  • Interesting backs (!!)

I am sorry to say they are just on flash sale so I may be doomed to simply  search for them on the internets in April. I have to keep telling myself that I’m spending too much money anyway on my big move. It helps me cope.

In other news, today is my very last day at my first big girl job out of college. I had a great learning experience here and met some wonderful people- well, person, really. Don’t worry, tiny handful of followers! I still plan to continue blogging post-move.

Have a fab-o weekend!

2 thoughts on “Neo-Neutrals

  1. woo! enjoy your last day of work. don’t worry, i’ll always be a devoted member of your small band of followers. you’ll be great in the big city! xx

Leave a Reply

