The Best Ever: Peanut Butter Blossoms

My Own Image

I confess that I originally wanted to write about my awesome Thanksgiving Day outfit, but alas I’m too down in the dumps because I misunderstood the tracking information and it won’t actually arrive at my doorstep until after Thanksgiving. What exactly does the post office expect me to write as my post title now? “My Regular Day Outfit”? This is one thing that this turkey is not thankful for.

But when I stop pouting about my outfit, I come to remember that in a few hours I will be with my family for Thanksgiving. I very much enjoy holidays because they come with a lot of traditions. We always go to a movie on Thanksgiving Day, which never fails to get my mom to say, “We shouldn’t be going to a movie because these poor people have to work.” It’s been about 15 years and we still haven’t actually turned the car around to avoid the activity. We will actively watch the parade on TV for about 15 minutes before my grandpa decides that a marathon of Magnum PI is what everyone really was looking to watch. (FUN FACT: My dad was IN the Macy’s parade a couple of years ago. He carried the sign in front of a float dressed as Uncle Sam.) My dad and my sister will insist that we watch Elf the day after Turkey Day as it’s the first officially official day of Christmas celebration (although I’m listening to Christmas music right now “and I don’t care who knows it!” (anyone? Elf reference? My true friends just laughed with me)). Of course, there’s an outing to the mall on Black Friday, probably my favorite shopping day of the year. And even though the fridge is full of leftovers, we almost never fail to eat a meal out more than once over the span of the weekend. Ah, memories.

Even though it’s not a standard gobbling tradition (how many ways can I say, “Thanksgiving Day” without actually repeating it? I hate when writers do that (not that I consider myself a writer). Google another description!), my mom always bakes Peanut Butter Blossoms for my birthday. My dad unwrapped all the kisses this year so he helped too. She even mails them to me if I’m not at home. Yes, mails. The beauty of the recipe she uses is that they never, ever arrive dry or crunchy (I think the secret is the condensed milk). Sure some of the kisses fall off in transit, but that is the worst of it. I have witnesses that can attest to the fact that these cookies are gone within days. This batch of 25 was consumed in five days. I’m not ashamed. I will literally bake these exact cookies for the rest of my life.

Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

Ingredients

1 (14 oz.) can Eagle Brand® Sweetened Condensed Milk

3/4 cup Jif® Creamy Peanut Butter

2 cups packaged biscuit mix

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/3 cup sugar

65 solid milk chocolate candy pieces, unwrapped (this may be a little much, but you can always eat them plain!)

Instructions

  • HEAT oven to 375°F. Beat sweetened condensed milk and peanut butter in large bowl until smooth. Add biscuit mix and vanilla; mix well.
  • SHAPE into 1-inch balls. Roll in sugar. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.
  • BAKE 6 to 8 minutes or until lightly browned around edges (do not overbake). Immediately press a chocolate candy piece in center of each cookie. Cool.
3 thoughts on “The Best Ever: Peanut Butter Blossoms

  1. so many good details in this post! karen’s speech on the way to the movie…tim leading the parade…tim unwrapping the hershey kisses. i’m dying! i hope you have an amazing tgiving, i’m sure tim will be pleased with the irish 🙂

  2. Pingback: A Royal Easter | browse happy

  3. Pingback: A Frugal Woman’s Juice Cleanse | browse happy

Leave a Reply

