Carrie’s Curls

Image c/o of HBO

Image c/o of HBO

It’s no secret that I fantasize about being besties with Carrie Bradshaw. She’s right up there with this absurd and sometimes disturbing (to outsiders and my “loyal” friends) love affair. Among the myriad of life lessons (I’m dead serious) that I gleaned from her, the one that I learned to embrace the most was to love my curly hair.

For years I straightened the ish out of it, but these days I’m au naturale, to the lamentation of my boyfriend who wishes I went straight more often. Don’t misunderstand him, he likes it curly too. Today he would be disappointed though because it’s in the no-hair-do-zone. But I digress. I have come to love my hair more than ever because I have finally figured out how to manage it. And it only took me years of experimenting!

My hair is pretty spiral-y on its own, i.e. without any finger curling, and hits right around my shoulder blades. It is also prone to frizz at the slightest hint of moisture in the air, hence the less than frequent straightening. While it’s not incredibly thick, I have a ton of body. A favorite party trick is brushing my hair out upside down and then flipping it back upright. It scares small children. My strands can get pretty dry and cause split-ends to come rather quickly if I’m not careful. I have tried so many different products throughout the years with not much luck, but I feel as though my hair and I have come to a truce. So without further ado, I will share my super fun routine (and I LOVE routines).

I will only wash my hair (when I can help it) with moisturizing (not necessarily curl-specific) shampoo and conditioner. Though I have no g0-to because I’m so fickle and non-loyal when it comes to that stuff. I just flit around from brand to brand, especially if something new is released.

Image c/o Drugstore.com

Image c/o Drugstore.com

First step out of the shower for curly girls: a microfiber towel like the Turbie Twist. While a tad bizarre-looking when worn and sold on TV, trust me, it works. A regular bath towel will create more frizz and I now cannot live without this.

Even Kyle Richards likes it.

Image c/o Ladylike Insanity

Image c/o Ladylike Insanity

I don’t leave my hair up for long because my hair needs product to be applied while it’s about 85% damp. I read somewhere in a magazine, maybe it was Real Simple, that you should layer your products on from lightest to heaviest. I have adopted this as it applies to my hair as well as to my face. Misting on a leave-in conditioner that I got at my salon has become my Step #2. While it’s a good product, I don’t think I’ll buy it again because I think I can find something more middle-of-the-road price-wise (I’m adding a lot of hyphens today) that will work just as well.

Then, I bring in my all-time favorite product that has been the source of all my rapture. One month my Birchbox brought me a sample of Miss Jessie’s Quick Curls. The first time I used it, I was not pleased, but after playing with different amounts of product applied, I finally found a sweet spot.

Image c/o Miss Jessie's

Image c/o Miss Jessie’s

I am beyond picky when it comes to curl products. Usually everything ends up so crunchy and disgusting. Miss Jessie’s leaves my hair manageable and touchable. Currently, I’m using a bottle of their Pillow Soft Curls, which I like just as much. I can’t wait to keep building on to my arsenal with this brand. They’re bananas.

About a quarter-sized dollop will do just fine for me. I flip my head over and comb some through the ends, working my way up. Once I feel like it’s evenly applied, I lightly scrunch my whole head so the curls shape up a little better. Finger curling key pieces, like my bangs and some pieces on top, really helps to define how they will dry.

My bestie and college roommate was the one who first introduced me to a diffuser. I had no idea they existed! What a miracle and blessing it has been.

Image c/o Target

Image c/o Target

This one by Revlon is one of my limbs and I hope never to part with it. Its cousin, the travel-sized version, just became my newest companion. The secret to the final step of drying is the cold air setting featured on the dryers, which helps to set my hair.

I know you were probably expecting a grand finale since you read this much, but this is it. Once my hair is dry I do nothing more, except a spritz of hair spray if it happens to be particularly windy. Then I’m just another (curly-haired) girl in the world.

One thought on “Carrie’s Curls

Leave a Reply

