Oatmeal Cookie Dough Overnight Oats

Screen Shot 2013-06-06 at 2.12.29 PM

{Oatmeal with Skim Milk at Alterra, Milwaukee, WI}

Breakfast, or rather brunch, is my favorite meal. The whole song and dance just makes me ever so happy. Selecting a place, picking out a corresponding outfit and appropriate sunnies, the journey there, the coffee, the actual meal, the lackadaisical feeling of not having anywhere else to be or anything else to do. These occasions are usually reserved for the weekend, so during the week I try and make an effort to have a variety of easy, on-the-go options.

I certainly go through phases with my office breakfasts. The two mainstays are coffee and a piece of fruit. For a while the main course was a toast, peanut butter, and apple combo (yes, I actually got up from my desk and toasted the bread). Then it was a trail mix bar and nuts. Currently, I bring along oatmeal with protein powder.

When my girlfriend pointed me to the overnight oats recipes on Peanut Butter Fingers, I was a little skeptical to try a cold version of oatmeal, but willing to take a risk since I knew I had all the ingredients in my pantry. The results? Super delicious. I have made the Oatmeal Cookie Dough Overnight Oats two days in a row with my own addition of half a scoop of chocolate protein powder and rice milk instead of almond. It’s so simple to just grab it out of the fridge in the morning.

Ingredients

Results

While not the most glamorous, it’s certainly most delicious. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day. Making sure it’s tasty is just as important.

I would love to know if there are new things I should try!

Leave a Reply

