A Quarter-Life Crisis

Image c/o Flikr, rocketrictic

Image c/o Flikr, rocketrictic

I’m having a heavily introspective week. It is most likely stemming from my fellow millennial friends that are going through a quarter-life crisis, which, when I heard John Mayer sing about I didn’t really believe existed but now, I know it is true because I am having one myself.

Call it “looking for my passion” or “finding myself” or “defining my future” or whatever lofty existential thing, that’s what I’m obsessing over. Though my birthday is not until November, I feel like Charlotte who decided to stick at 35 because she just didn’t feel that she was where she was supposed to be at 36.

As cloudy as this post is, my mind is even more so. But if movies and TV and books have taught me anything it’s that if we wait until we’re ready, we’ll be waiting for the rest of our lives. So once that moment of clarity for something that I’m not clear on comes to me, I hope I have the foresight (and guts) to take advantage of it hoping that eventually all the pieces fall into place…until then laugh at the confusion, live for the moment, and know everything happens for a reason.

Leave a Reply

