Don’t Be Lazy

Image c/o American Apparel

Image c/o American Apparel

My personal mantra. I have a high tendency to laze about versus being active when given the choice, but with all the food and calorie tracking I do I have realized that I have to workout to eat. I don’t skip meals or deprive myself of a lot of specific food items so I must, must, must workout with regularity.

Over the last two years I have become very conscious of my fitness. And 25 lbs. later (crazy, right?!) I must say I am a bit of an addict. I’m lucky enough to live within four blocks of my gym and get a pretty amazing pricing deal through work. This has helped me considerably in transitioning into a morning workout person. But I’m not the perky kind – I know, those people are the worst. I roll out of bed, throw on an outfit, and go.

Becoming a regular-workouty-person I think is the hardest part. I have a specific routine that allows me to be able to exercise like I do. The most important part is twofold: having my lunch packed the night before and deciding my outfit before I get home from the gym. Without those two things, I end up being late and stressed and rushed. All not good ways to start the day. It’s all about making it work for you.

For me, at 6:15AM on my walk to the gym, I look for an elliptical and/or strength workout for the day. I like variation and never do the same one twice in one week. I carry a little notebook in my Lululemon festival bag with workouts I find online. My “Don’t Be Lazy” Pinterest board is also helpful to find ways to keep things spicy.

But by far, my favorite sporty accessory is my UP band.

Screen Shot 2013-08-14 at 1.45.45 PM

It tracks my calorie burn and sleep in a mobile app and I’ve synced it to my Gym Pact and My Fitness Pal accounts. It has made me uber-aware of my activity (or lack thereof) during the day and I love knowing what I’m burning off. The handy vibration alert when I’ve been inactive for an hour is beyond. You can really cruise through the day without thinking about how long you’re sitting around. I’m sure that I could suck a lot more insights from it’s data output, but I really enjoy how I’m using it so far.

Whatever fitness goal you may have, it can be overwhelming to not be achieving as fast as you would like. I just try to remember there’s always going to be someone out there “doing it better” than me. It’s the same with work, fashion, just life. Do what works for you and what makes you happy. With that being said, I’m going to get happy and have my two birthday cake Oreos now.

One thought on “Don’t Be Lazy

  1. Pingback: Friday Find: Fitsugar’s Fit Fix App | browse happy

Leave a Reply

